The SEISC released their All-Conference softball teams, with a number of area players making the cut. 

Local first-team SEISC North selections include Highland’s Abbie Miller, Aly Stokes, Dani Laughlin and Emily Yahnke, Lone Tree’s Abby Buckman and Iowa Mennonite’s Suzanna Yoder and Rubye Ney. 

Miller, who played third base for Highland this season, racked up 47 RBIs this season to break the school single-season record. She hit .444 this year for a total of 37 hits including seven doubles, two triples and four home runs. Her four home runs pushed her into double-digits for her career and a new Highland school record. 

Highland shortstop Aly Stokes hit .274, stole 18 bases and drew a team-high 15 walks. 

Dani Laughlin was the only eighth-grader selected to the SEISC North first team. Laughlin hit a team-high .468 in the lead off spot for the Huskies. She stole 20 bases and scored a team-high 25 runs. 

Emily Yahnke was Highland’s designated hitter this year and an effective one at that. She hit .406 and had an on-base percentage above .500. She drove in 14 runs and hit three triples. 

In one of the best pitching conferences in the state Lone Tree’s Abby Buckman found herself on the first team. Buckman had an ERA of 2.25 in conference games. She struck out 157 batters this season compared to just 25 walks and 104 hits given up. 

Both of Iowa Mennonite’s seniors were named to the list. Yoder, playing shortstop for IMS, .373 to lead the team. She hit three home runs and drove in 11 runs. Rubye Ney drove in 10 runs while hitting .345. Ney played both center field and catcher this season. 

Second team selections included Highland’s battery of pitcher Megan Hoenig and catcher Mackinze Hora. Highland second baseman Jenna Sands and outfielder Sarah Schneider. Lone Tree added Lily Miller and Arlie Lorack to the second team. Mia Graber was a second-team selection for IMS. 

Honorable mention included Whitney Willoz and Sara Branson for Lone Tree, Abbi Stransky and Ellie Anderson for Highland and Leah Bontrager and Sarah Miller for IMS. 


All-SEISC North First Team


Madie Anderson, Winfield-Mount Union

Abby Buckman, Lone Tree


Katie Hearn, Louisa-Muscatine

Emma Reid, Wapello


Abbie Miller, Highland

Hailey Sanders, Louisa-Muscatine

Emilee Linder, Pekin

Suzanna Yoder, Iowa Mennonite

Aly Stokes, Highland


Dani Laughlin, Highland

Zoey Wright, Pekin

Rubye Ney, IMS

McKenna Hohenadel, Louisa-Muscatine


Maddie Mashek, Louisa-Muscatine

Emily Yahnke, Highland

Elli Ledger, Pekin

Player of the year

Kylie Sanders, Louisa-Muscatine

Coach of the year

Bryan Butler, Louisa-Muscatine


All-SEISC North Second Team


Megan Hoenig, Highland

Aliyah Lolling, Wapello


Mackinze Hora, Highland

Anna Anderson, Winfield-Mount Union


Lily Miller, Lone Tree

Mallory Hohenadel, Louisa-Muscatine

Mia Graber, Iowa Mennonite

Serah Shafer, Wapello

Jenna Sands, Highland


Jayde Eberhardt, Mediapolis

Mady Reid, Wapello

Arlie Lorack, Lone Tree

Mallory Mashek, Louisa-Muscatine

Sarah Schneider, Highland

Emma Milder, Columbus


Brynn Jeambey, Louisa-Muscatine

Emi Zook, Pekin

Sam Smith, Wapello

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.